Making a Orchid Inspired Dress, Part Two

Angela Clayton's Costumery & Creations

This is the second post about making my Orchid Inspired Dress! Today i’m going over the process of making the lower half of this costume. The post about making the bodice can be read here.

The skirt base is a really big circle skirt cut from striped upholstery material. Unfortunately at the time I bought this material my math skills failed me and I purchased wrong amount. I only bought three yards and I really needed another eighteen inches. I had to crop the front and back of the skirt by four inches just to cut the skirt out. Yikes.

DSC_4133

Here you can see how that ended up looking on my dress form. Do you see the problem?

DSC_4134

Luckily I had a plan that would cover the hem! It would involve the three yards of organza I bought without  a real purpose in mind.

So I did a rough patching…

Ursprünglichen Post anzeigen 1.075 weitere Wörter

Kommentar verfassen

